In dealing with relationships, the state of California legally recognizes three basic types. There are marriages, domestic partnerships and what is sometimes mistakenly referred to as common law marriage. A marriage in California is legally defined as being between two unmarried people, both at least 18 years old. To get married, the couple needs a marriage license issued by the state.
No blood test is required to get a marriage license in California. Both partners have to appear in person at the county Clerk of Court and show valid picture identification such as a driver’s license or passport. If either has been married before, that person must provide the date of the divorce.
The couple can obtain either a public marriage license, which becomes public record, or a confidential license that is not a public record. The fee for a marriage license is about $80 and it is valid for 90 days. After the marriage is solemnized, by a minister, judge, or certain other public officials, the person performing the ceremony must submit the completed license to the court clerk within 10 days.